WhatsApp now allows users to delete sent messages

0 84,063

WhatsApp is finally bringing the ability for users to delete previously sent messages.

Users will be able to delete messages that they have either sent to a group or an individual chat and messages that have been successfully deleted in a chat will be replaced by “this message was deleted”.

Users are only able to delete messages within seven minutes of sending it.

The WhatsApp team said:

“Deleting messages for everyone allows you to delete specific messages you have sent to either a group or an individual chat.  “This is particularly useful if you sent a message to the wrong chat or if the message you sent contains a mistake.

“Messages you successfully delete for everyone will be replaced with “This message was deleted” in your recipients’ chats.  “Similarly, if you see ‘This message was deleted’ in a chat, it means that the sender deleted their message for everyone.”

Deleting messages sent to everyone in WhatsApp is pretty straightforward: Open WhatsApp and go to the chat containing the message you wish to delete. Tap and hold the message > choose Delete from the menu. Optionally, select more messages to delete multiple messages at once. Tap Delete  > Delete for Everyone

To delete WhatsApp messages you’ve sent or received on your phone simply Open WhatsApp and go to the chat containing the message you wish to delete. Tap and hold the message > choose Delete from the menu. Optionally, select more messages to delete multiple messages at once. Tap Delete  > Delete for Me.

In order to use the new WhatsApp delete sent messages feature, both you and the recipient must be running latest version of WhatsApp. If you or your recipient does not have the latest version, the feature will not work.

Naturally, the feature is not a guaranteed way to make sure your recipient does not see the offending message as any recipients may see your message before it’s deleted or if the deletion was not successful.

Strangely, unsuccessful attempts to delete a WhatsApp message to everyone will not provide a notification.

This site uses cookies, tokens, and other third party scripts to recognize visitors of our sites and services, remember your settings and privacy choices, and - depending on your settings and privacy choices - enable us and some key partners to collect information about you so that we can improve our services and deliver relevant ads.

 

By continuing to use our site or clicking Agree, you agree that Rapid Mobile and our key partners may collect data and use cookies for personalized ads and other purposes, as described more fully in our privacy policy.

 

You can change your settings at any time by clicking Privacy Settings or by visiting our Privacy Centre for more detailed information.

Cookie Services

When you visit any website, it may store or retrieve information on your browser, mostly in the form of cookies. Because we respect your right to privacy, you can choose not to allow some types of cookies. Click on the different category headings to find out more and change our default settings. However, blocking some types of cookies may impact your experience of the site and the services we are able to offer.

These cookies are necessary for the website to function and enable essential services and functonality, including identify verification, service continuity and site security. Opt out is not availabe.

In order to use this website we use the following technically required cookies
  • wordpress_test_cookie
  • wordpress_logged_in_
  • wordpress_sec

For perfomance reasons we use Cloudflare as a CDN network. This saves a cookie "__cfduid" to apply security settings on a per-client basis. This cookie is strictly necessary for Cloudflare's security features and cannot be turned off.
  • __cfduid

We use WooCommerce as a shopping system. For cart and order processing 2 cookies will be stored. This cookies are strictly necessary and can not be turned off.
  • woocommerce_cart_hash
  • woocommerce_items_in_cart

Decline all Services
Accept all Services