Viber has rolled out what the company calls “secret messages,” to give users even more control over their communications. The feature lets users designate which photos or videos stay in the archives of a chat before they hit “send”. Viber, of course already let users delete a conversation from both their own phone, and that of recipients’ phones.
“Make your conversations more meaningful by choosing what stays and what goes. Secret messages give you the ability to decide when the photos and videos you send will disappear from your conversation and, in doing so, let you decide what should and shouldn’t be a permanent part of your conversation history.”
“Some things are meant to be seen once and then never again. When you send a secret message, it can be viewed exactly one time and, maybe more importantly, it can’t be shown to anyone else afterward.”
The secret messaging feature lets users set a timer for images they want to share, but that they don’t want to be included in the archives, in a Snapchat-like manner. A photo can be sent to a recipient with a preset view time of 1, 3, 7 or 10 seconds. After that time is up, the recipient has a record that something was shared, but they can no longer see the photo.
A video can be sent on Viber now with the option for a recipient to be able to view it just one time before it disappears from the archive. The secrete messages feature works for group or one-to-one chats using Viber on iOS or Android devices.
With secret messages, the fun of sending in-the-moment photos and videos doesn’t come at the expense of your entire conversation. All of your chat history remains intact – only the bits and pieces you want to lose are lost.
The new, secret messages feature in Viber may be welcome but it’s not exactly groundbreaking. Snapchat, amongst some others made ephemeral messaging mainstream.
Get the latest news and information directly on your Android, BlackBerry, iPhone or Windows smartphone and join us on BBM Channel C00040F5B. We also have a brand new Facebook page here.